Cinque Terre On My Mind

This morning, I was startled to read the most recent post by Aspiring Kennedy, regarding flooding Italy. It has affected one of my favorite places in the whole world: Cinque Terre.

According to news reports, there have been serious flooding and mudslides, with Monterosso and Vernazza (where my family stayed on our first trip to Italy in 2007) being affected the most. The mayor of Monterosso has been quoted as saying:

“Monterosso no longer exists”

Cinque Terre first came into my life by way of Rick Steves, who would regularly feature the villages on his public television programs about Italy.

When my father began planning our family vacation to Italy in 2007, my mother, sister and I were very insistent on visiting the 5 villages. Over a two day period of time (side note: not nearly enough time to appreciate all the cities have to offer), we hiked some, rode the train some, swam some, and ate as much seafood as we could.

I actually had to dig through old facebook photos to find some pictures, it’s so hard to choose from allll the pictures I had.

I was back the following  summer and was fortunate to spend a full 5 days, mainly eating, swimming and hiking.

I’ve really enjoyed this trip down memory lane. Now my wish is for my 3 whole readers to keep this special place in their hearts, as I will be doing too. Hopefully, they will recover and future generations will be able to enjoy them, as I have been fortunate to do.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cinque Terre On My Mind

  1. The Cinque Terre is certainly a special place for me too. I was devastated by the recent news.

Leave a Reply

